Cheesecake “Truffles”

More than a year ago I was asked to make cheesecake truffles for a wedding on November 13 – I’m also making the cupcakes and small cakes so watch for those posts next week. I always use the same base truffle recipe and I add flavoring oils to get the flavor requested. I have made tons of chocolate, almond, and raspberry truffles – those seem to be the most requested flavors – and they have always turned out great.

I offer cheesecake as a flavor knowing the oil is available in “cheesecake”. About a month ago I decided to make some sample cheesecake truffles and I was really disappointed. I thought the flavoring tasted fake and way too sweet.

I searched the internet for other cheesecake truffle options and finally decided what could be better than actual cheesecake? Yes, actual homemade cheesecake, formed into balls, dipped into chocolate. I can’t go wrong with that, can I? I guess these really aren’t truffles by definition, BUT as far as I’m concerned these are cheesecake truffles!

First, I baked up a lot of cheesecake – there is 100 ounces of cream cheese in the pan in the picture below and that is only 1/2 of the cheesecake I used! I let the cheesecake cool completely and the refrigerated for several hours before I started forming it into balls. From this pan I was able to get ~115.

I used a small scoop to dip the balls so they would all be the same size. I lined them up in a pan and then refrigerated again for several hours. I rolled each one into a ball to get them completely smooth and again lined them up in a pan. This time I froze them. I would recommend freezing for at least an hour before dipping to make that process easier. I actually froze mine for a few days so I had plenty of time to get the cheesecake and the truffles finished up before I needed to start working on the cupcakes during the two days before the wedding.

While the balls are frozen coat in melted chocolate and place on waxed paper to let the chocolate harden.

Once the chocolate is firm, use a small paring knife to cut any excess chocolate off of the truffle.

Line truffles up close together on a cookie sheet.

Melt white chocolate and drizzle over truffles.

For this wedding the bride requested that each truffle be boxed in these super cute truffle boxes! So excited I discovered these boxes… I think I’m going to find myself using these a lot!

Here is what they look like when they are closed up:

So, how many of these did I make?

And the answer is – 220!

Thank you to the new bride and groom for asking me to make these and your wedding cupcakes. Watch for pictures of the cupcakes and wedding reception soon.

Comments
14 Responses to “Cheesecake “Truffles””
  1. These sound amazing and are just as cute as can be! The little boxes are precious as well. Such a wonderful treat for a wedding.

  2. Megan says:

    What a great truffle! I cant wait to see the cupcakes either!

  3. Lisa says:

    Those are adorable and sound amazingly good.

  4. Katherine says:

    After I make these, do the finished products need to be stored in the fridge?

  5. Super cute! I’m excited to see the cupcakes 🙂

  6. Drmcshawn says:

    where did you find those boxes?

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] falling in love with the boxes I used to make Cheesecake Truffles for this wedding in November, I couldn’t resist getting more of those same boxes in red […]

  2. […] these Cheesecake Truffles I made for a wedding a few weeks ago? I loved the little boxes so much, I picked up some more in […]

  3. […] for the last two Friday’s… two weeks ago I was consumed by making cupcakes and truffles for a wedding and I did not take time to bake cookies or post and I really have no excuse for last […]

  4. […] Cheesecake Balls(see Cheesecake “Truffles” post for […]

  5. […] by meettheswans on November 22, 2010 · Leave a Comment  You may have seen these Cheesecake Truffles I made for a wedding on November 13. As I mentioned in the post I also made cupcakes for the […]

  6. […] made cupcakes and truffles for a wedding on November 13. The reception was held at a winery located fairly close to where the […]

  7. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Krista Joy, Krista Joy. Krista Joy said: Cheesecake "Truffles" from the wedding… cupcakes coming soon! http://fb.me/Mg7bRh97 […]



Leave a Reply

