Chocolate Cookie Pound Cupcakes – Little Sister’s Senior Night

I am beyond behind in posting this… I actually made this for my sister back in the first week of October! I had planned to put this up when her team played one of their post-season games. Unfortunately, their games days slipped by and I missed my chances to do that. Even though the high school volleyball season is completely over I hated to skip this post altogether… so here it is!

At the high school she goes to, also where I went, the last home game of the season has become a bit of a celebration for the seniors called “Senior Night”. Not only are the senior athletes and their parents recognized, but there is also a lot of gifts… from the teammates, from the coach, sometimes even from the parents!

Knowing she would be getting gifts like photo frames and flowers for everyone else I decided I wanted to to make her something to give her after the game. She loves chocolate and Oreos, so I settled on Chocolate Cookie Pound Cupcakes. I used the same recipe that I whipped up in June 2009 when I made this Chocolate Cookie Pound Cake, but instead of a pouring all of the batter into a bundt cake pan, I scooped it into cupcakes.

I topped it with Chocolate Cream Cheese Frosting and a chocolate cookies. Also notice the orange and black cupcake liner, very easy to find in the October Halloween section and a perfect match to the high school colors.

But I couldn’t just walk into the volleyball game with a cupcake… it needed to be packaged!

The craft stores carry these cute “Chinese take-out boxes” – that’s what I call them. They come in all colors and several sizes. I chose this black and white polka dot box in just the right size for a single cupcake. I trimmed down a cupcake holder meant for a 4″ square box to fit inside this one. The cupcake holder keeps the cupcake from sliding around in the box.

Keeping with the color theme, I tied an orange and black polka dot ribbon around the box and of course attached a note I made… in the shape of a volleyball!

The rest of my family loves Chinese food, but my little sister does not. I do not understand how that’s possible but anyway… After the game we joked with her that I had brought her Chinese carry-out. But she knew better. Congratulations on a great senior season, Kel!

Krista’s Chocolate Cookie Pound Cupcakes

  • 1 cup Butter
  • 1 1/2 cups Sugar
  • 4 Eggs
  • 1 teaspoon Vanilla
  • 2 1/2 teaspoons Baking Powder
  • 1 teaspoon Salt
  • 3 cups Flour
  • 1/2 cup Sour Cream
  • 1/2 cup Milk
  • 15 Oreo or other Chocolate Sandwich Cookies, Crushed
  • 1/2 cup Mini Chocolate Chips

Cream butter and sugar until mixed. Beat in eggs and vanilla. In separate bowl, mix baking powder, salt and flour. Add dry ingredients alternately with sour cream and milk  until completely mixed.

Line or grease a cupcake tin. Use a medium scoop to partially fill each. Mix the crushed cookies and mini chocolate chips. Sprinkle 1 tablespoon of the cookies/chocolate chip mixture on top of the batter for each cupcake. Scoop more batter on top so that each liner is filled 2/3 of the way full.

Bake in a preheated 350 (F) degree oven for 20 minutes. Drizzle with chocolate glaze from the original recipe, frost with the chocolate cream cheese frosting that I used,  and/or add whipped cream, cookie crumbs or other desired topping.

Comments
2 Responses to “Chocolate Cookie Pound Cupcakes – Little Sister’s Senior Night”
  1. What a sweet gift and a fun tradition!

Leave a Reply

