Pumpkin Pie Frosting

UPDATE 10/7/2011: I was THRILLED to see the  CSI Project challenge theme for the week “Fall Food”! How awesome is that?! Click here to see all of the delicious challenge entries! Uhh-mazing! Pumpkin is one of the first things I think of if someone says “fall food”… or even just “fall”! I used real Pumpkin Pie as frosting on Spice Cupcakes for a wedding last fall and it was a big hit. It works as perfectly as any buttercream I’ve ever made. Who would have thought? This Pumpkin Pie Frosting truly is a “fall food” specialty, so I’m entering it in the challenge!

Visit thecsiproject.com

As much as I would like to claim this idea, I have to give credit to Stef of the Cupcake Project who first gave this a try. When making these wedding cupcakes, I needed frosting that was “burnt orange” in color for my Pumpkin Spice Cupcakes. I thought it would be really tasty if the frosting was also pumpkin flavored. I experimented adding pumpkin to a buttercream frosting recipe and a cream cheese frosting recipe and altering other ingredients trying to make it work. The Pumpkin Cream Cheese frosting I developed was good, but too runny to use if piping onto cupcakes. It was perfect for dipping cupcakes – which I did – but that wasn’t the look I was going for at the wedding.

When I came across the idea to use real pumpkin pie filling, I couldn’t resist giving this a try. It worked perfectly!

I follow the recipe found on a can of Libby’s pumpkin minus the crust – just bake the filling right into a pan. I baked the real pumpkin pie, let it cool completely and refrigerated overnight, whipped it up in the mixer and piped it onto the cupcakes. The cupcakes in this picture are my Pumpkin Ginger Surprise Cupcakes.

I had to make a LOT of pumpkin pie to have enough for the wedding cupcakes!

Depending on how much frosting you want on your cupcake, I estimate you could do about 18 cupcakes with the pumpkin pie filling from one pie.

The Libby’s Pumpkin Pie Recipe (straight from a can of Libby’s pumpkin) also know as Pumpkin Pie Frosting (adapted from Cupcake Project):

3/4 cup Sugar

1 teaspoon Ground Cinnamon
1/2 teaspoon Salt
1/2 teaspoon Ground Ginger
1/4 teaspoon Ground Cloves
2 Eggs
1 can (15 oz.) LIBBY’S® 100% Pure Pumpkin
1 can (12 fl. oz.) Evaporated Milk
1 unbaked 9-inch (4-cup volume) deep-dish pie shell (No need for a shell!)
Mix sugar and spices and set aside. Beat eggs in a large bowl. Stir in pumpkin and sugar-spice mixture. Gradually add evaporated milk. Pour into a greased 9″ pie pan.
Bake in a preheated 425 (F) degree oven for 15 minutes. Reduce temperatre to 350 (F) degree and bake for 40-50 minutes. Cool on wire rack for 2 hours. Refrigerate at least 4 hours.
Scrape baking pumpkin pie filling into a mixer bowl and briefly whip the filling. Use as you would use a regular frosting!
Comments
3 Responses to “Pumpkin Pie Frosting”
Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Natalie Jeckel McGee, Krista Joy. Krista Joy said: Want Pumpkin Frosting? Use a REAL Pumpkin Pie! It works! http://fb.me/v5Jj7mWP […]

  2. […] Ginger Cupcakes with a Cheesecake Truffle Surprise, topped with Pumpkin Pie Frosting and Sweet Cinnamon […]

  3. […] Pumpkin Pie Frosting, Sprinkles, Sweet Cinnamon Sprinkle ← Fall Themed Winery Wedding Pumpkin Pie Frosting → LikeBe the first to like this […]



Leave a Reply

