Sassy Cinnamon-Scotch Cookies

I missed the weekly “12 Weeks of Christmas Cookies” for the last two Friday’s… two weeks ago I was consumed by making cupcakes and truffles for a wedding and I did not take time to bake cookies or post and I really have no excuse for last week! I baked these “sassy” cookies this week I wanted to try out this recipe that was selected by Tami of Tami’s Kitchen Table Talk as one of the November recipes for the Cookie Carnival.

I changed the cookies slightly, subbing butterscotch chips for the cinnamon chips and walnuts for the pecans, to fit what I had on hand. I am sure I didn’t over bake these cookies and they were still very crispy – which some people would find to be  a good thing! I suspect baking at 375 (F) degrees instead of 350 (F) degrees – typical for cookies – could be the reason. The original recipe does say to bake at 350 (F) degrees if using a dark pan, I used light stoneware so I stuck with the higher temperature. With a preference for a soft cookie I will try baking at 350 (F) degrees if I make these again. These cookies are very similar to snickerdoodles, like a snickerdoodle cookie with nuts and baking chips.

Krista’s Sassy Cinnamon-Scotch Cookies (minimally adapted from Betty Crocker)

  • 1/2 cup Butter
  • 1 1/2 cups Sugar
  • 2 Eggs
  • 1 teaspoon Vanilla
  • 2 1/2 cups Flour
  • 1 teaspoon Cream of  Tartar
  • 1/2 teaspoon Baking Soda
  • 1/4 teaspoon Salt
  • 1 cup Butterscotch Flavored Baking Chips
  • 1 cup Walnuts, Chopped
  • 2 tablespoons Sugar
  • 1 teaspoon Cinnamon

Cream butter and sugar until light and fluffy. Beat in eggs and vanilla. Stir in flour, cream of tartar, baking soda and salt. Mix in the baking chips and nuts.

In a small bowl stir remaining sugar into the cinnamon. Shape dough into 1/4 cup balls (these are large cookies) and roll in cinnamon-sugar mixture. Place 3″ apart on ungreased cookie sheet. Bake about 15 minutes in preheated 375 degree oven.

* Bake at 350 degrees if you are using a dark pan or if you prefer a softer cookie.

* Adjust baking time down if you make smaller cookies.

As I mentioned in previous 12 Weeks of Christmas Cookies posts, WordPress does now allow me to add the code to show a link tool. So click the images below to go to another site that does show links to all of the posts by the other bloggers participating in the group!

And the Cookie Carnival:

Comments
10 Responses to “Sassy Cinnamon-Scotch Cookies”
  1. Tessa says:

    Butterscotch chips are my favorite, and they seem like they’d make a good swap!

    FYI – I baked mine at 350 degrees and for not quite as long as the recipe stated. It seemed to help keep them a little softer.

    Happy baking!

  2. Lisa says:

    Butterscotch and cinnamon, what a delicious combination. These snickerdoodles sound delish.

  3. Sue says:

    These do sound like a spiffed up snickerdoodle, which sounds fantastic! I’ll remember to bake them at 350 if I make them.

  4. Katrina says:

    I just made these yesterday for Cookie Carnival, haven’t posted yet. But I thought the same thing–they are actually very tasty, but way overbaked and I only did 12 minutes. My husband’s favorite cookie is snickerdoodles, but he likes them soft/chewy, so bummer. Still, these look great. Looks like you made them a lot smaller than the recipe. So did I, and still tried to compensate the time. I think you’re right, lower the temp.

    • meettheswans says:

      Thanks for the comment Katrina! Yes, I did make them smaller than the recipe said. Mine were probably closer to 2 tablespoons than the 1/4 cup/4 tablespoons the recipe suggested. I’m headed to your site now to see if you’ve posted yet!

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] December has arrived and we area already to Week 10 of the 12 Weeks of Christmas Cookies! The cinnamon cookies I made last week inspired me to try something completely new using cinnamon – a spiced peanut […]



Leave a Reply

