Thanksgiving Turkey Cheese Ball

This year I was asked to bring an appetizer to one of our family Thanksgiving gatherings. I came across this cute idea for a Turkey Cheese Ball on the Taste of Home website.

I had planned to use the same design as the Taste of Home version. I went to the grocery store to purchase all of the ingredients I needed for the food I was making for our Thanksgiving gatherings. One items on my list was a box of oval shaped crackers. I found of box of wheat crackers with a picture on the front that clearly showed an oval cracker. I was going to decorate the turkey at my parent’s house so I didn’t have to transport it with the “feathers” already in place. Hours before our meal I opened the cracker box to begin assembling my turkey. When I opened the box I was not happy to find the crackers inside were circles! I double checked the box, still showed ovals on the front. What’s with that? Forced to make due with what I had, I just decided to forget decorating all together.

I altered the recipe somewhat and I also simplified the design. The one at Taste of Home looks amazing, but my version in much quicker and still looks like a turkey! I realize it’s probably too late for you to use this idea this year so I will definitely refer back to this in future years.

Krista’s Thanksgiving Turkey Cheese Ball

  • 16 ounces Cream Cheese (you can use reduced-fat or fat-free cream cheese)
  • 1/4 cup Sour Cream (you can use reduced-fat or fat-free sour cream)
  • 8 ounces Deli Turkey Meat, finely chopped
  • 2 cups (8 ounces) Cheddar Cheese, shredded
  • 1 tablespoon Dried Onions
  • 1 teaspoon Worcestershire Sauce
  • 1 teaspoon Lemon Juice
  • 1/2 teaspoon Pepper
  • 36 Pecan Halves
  • 1 Red Pepper
  • 9 Round or Oval Crackers
  • Crackers to Serve with Cheese Ball

Mix the first eight ingredients until combined and shape into a ball. Wrap ball in plastic wrap and refrigerate until at least one hour.

Place ball onto a serving platter. Insert pecan halves into the ball about halfway back to form one set of feathers. For the other set of feather insert round or oval crackers behind the pecans. Using a narrow slice of the read pepper for the turkey’s head and wattle.

Serve with remaining crackers. I used a large platter so the crackers could be displayed around the base of the turkey.

Comments
3 Responses to “Thanksgiving Turkey Cheese Ball”
  1. Megan says:

    That is so cute! We once made a pineapple shaped cheese ball for a Hawaiian party using the top of a pineapple and nuts.. I love the turkey!

  2. Sue says:

    Love it! My niece made one too:)

Leave a Reply

