Caramel Gingerbread Blondie’s

Do you ever have those nights where you wake up in the middle of the night with a great idea, get excited about it, and then fall back asleep. You wake up in the morning knowing that you though of something but you never can remember what it was?!

Before going to bed last night I realized that I still had not make anything for the 12 Weeks of Christmas Cookies post today. Next Friday is Christmas Eve, meaning today is the last round for the group. I couldn’t miss out on the last round! I wanted to think of something really grand for the last week and it would have to be something I could whip up this morning before work. I was considering a batch of ginger cookies because I think of that as a “winter” cookie. I thought I was really onto something when I woke up in the middle of the night with the idea of Caramel Gingerbread Blondie’s. Fortunately this was not the type of idea that is completely forgotten by morning.

Glad I didn’t forget this idea… rich ooey, gooey deliciousness!

When I woke up, I decided to “Google” it to see if I could find any other recipes out there. I found many recipes for gingerbread blondie’s, but not a single one with caramel… at least not on the first few pages of the Google search. If any of you have a recipe like this, please post it in a comment or send me an e-mail! For right now I am just going to try to control my excitement in having an idea that I cannot even find on Google!

Krista’s Caramel Gingerbread Blondie’s
  • 1 1/4 cups Flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon Cinnamon
  • 1/2 teaspoon Ginger
  • 1/4 teaspoon Cloves
  • 1/2 teaspoon Baking Soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon Salt
  • 5 tablespoons Butter
  • 1 cup Brown Sugar
  • 1 Egg
  • 2 tablespoons Molasses
  • 1 tablespoon Vanilla Extract
  • 1/2 cup Butterscotch Chips
  • 1/2 cup Chopped Walnuts
  • 1/2 cup Butterscotch Chips
  • 1/4 cup Caramel Ice Cream Topping
  • 1/4 cup Chopped Walnuts

In a large mixing bowl stir flour, cinnamon, ginger, cloves, baking soda and salt together. Melt butter in a saucepan over the stovetop. Stir in brown sugar and leave on heat until sugar is dissolved, but do not let the butter/sugar mixture come to a boil.  Remove from heat and let cool to room temperature. Beat egg into the mixture. Add molasses and vanilla and stir to mix well. Pour butter mixture into the bowl of dry ingredients and beat just until mixture is incorporated.

Stir 1/2 cup Butterscotch Baking Chips and 1/2 cup Chopped Walnuts into the blondie batter.

Spread the batter into a greased 8″ or 9″ square baking dish (double the recipe for a 9″x13″ pan) – it will be very thick.

Melt the remaining 1/2 cup of Butterscotch Baking Chips in the microwave. Mix the melted chips with 1/4 cup of Caramel Ice Cream Topping. Pour the caramel mixture over the batter in the pan. Use a knife or a spoon to swirl into the batter – unlike some recipe you can cut deep into the batter to mix it in well. Sprinkle the top with the remaining 1/4 cup Chopped Walnuts and press lightly into the bake.

Bake in preheated 350 (F) degree oven for about 25-30 minutes. The bars are very gooey, so let them cool completely before cutting.

As I mentioned in previous 12 Weeks of Christmas Cookies posts, WordPress does now allow me to add the code to show a link tool. So click the images below to go to another site that does show links to all of the posts by the other bloggers participating in these groups!

Comments
8 Responses to “Caramel Gingerbread Blondie’s”
  1. Megan says:

    I’m late on my cookies but tis the season. 😉 I love your idea here. They look so ooey gooey delicious Thumbs up.

  2. Wow! Perfect for a sweet tooth!

  3. What a cool recipe! The flavor combination sounds delish!!

  4. Debbie Bates says:

    MMMMmmmm these look delicious. Will we see these at our Christmas get together? haha

  5. Sue says:

    Nice combination! I’d love to try these. Great idea:) Merry Christmas1

  6. Lisa says:

    I can see why you couldn’t get these out of your head. They really are unforgettable. I love gingerbread flavors and so your blondies are now calling my name. Great job coming up with a new original treat. I’m definitely going to try this out.

  7. Lisa says:

    I can see why these are unforgettable! YUM! I keep a pad of paper right next to my bed so I can try to write things down if I think of something good that I can’t forget!

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] Caramel Gingerbread Blondies […]



Leave a Reply

