18 on the 18th: Dachshund Birthday Cake

Kelsis 18th Cake (3)

Happy Golden Birthday to my “little” sister, Kelsi! I can’t believe that she is 18 today!!

The funny thing about being 7 years older than your sister is that for the years of your life where you live together the age gap always seems so big. I was the “big” sister and she seemed so much younger. But now comes the time of our lives where the age gap doesn’t seem so big. She’s all grown up now, officially an “adult”. We are about the same size and now we could do all of the fun things that girls always dream of having a sister for like sharing clothes and shoes… but of course this happens at the time in our lives when we do not live together! What’s even better is that we almost always like the same clothes and shoes – at least we live close enough where we can swap a few things back and forth if we want to.

This year I found I had a some major problems when I went Christmas shopping. I found tons of good things for her, and struggled with some of the others on my list. It’s a good thing that her birthday and Christmas come at the same time so I have an excuse to get an extra gift. Actually, it’s such a problem for me that I already have got part of her graduation gift – because I couldn’t resist! And my second problem when Christmas shopping for other people… finding way to many things for myself!

Kelsi loves animals, but not just any animals – especially baby farm animals. She also loves another animal, her mini dachshund, Dixie. Dixie’s not a “baby” puppy any more, I guess Kelsi still loves her because she’s little!? Between my parents and Kelsi, I can tell you that Dixie is one pampered little princess puppy!

Last year I had the idea to make a birthday cake for Kelsi with “Dixie” on it, but she wanted a John Deere cake instead – click here to see the cake from 2009.

A few weeks ago Kelsi called and, remembering my idea from last year, she requested a dachshund cake and that is exactly what I did!

The real Dixie with her “mommy” – pink rhinestone collar and all!

Dixie can provide hours of entertainment sitting like this!

When I am planning a cake design like this, I begin by freehand drawing my design in the frosting with a toothpick. Once I am happy with the design I run over it again with a roller to smooth out my marks. Here is what my toothpick drawing looks like:

Here is a close-up of the face on the cake:

Comments
4 Responses to “18 on the 18th: Dachshund Birthday Cake”
  1. Tiffany says:

    Aww, Dachshund cake! I love it! And Dixie is super cute. 🙂

  2. Megan says:

    This is adorable! I bet she loved her cake. I do.

    I have a mini dachshund too. Mine is 7 years old and use to be red, but now he’s pretty gray. Your sister’s pup is lookin good. I don’t see any gray at all.

Leave a Reply

