Valentine’s Two-Tone Cookie Crinkles

IMG_7689

I was doing  a little last minute shipping on Christmas Eve and was surprised to find a Valentine section already in the store. Before Christmas? Really? The stores sure do keep the seasons and holidays coming. The last time I was in a mall was before Christmas… but I bet you may be able to find a swimsuit now!

Since the stores have been thinking about Valentine’s Day for weeks now, I decided it wasn’t too early for me to start thinking about Valentine’s Day. When I saw this recipe for Two-Tone Cookie Crinkles from the Better Homes and Gardens website was one of the Cookie Carnival selections for January, I knew it had potential to be a great Valentine’s themed cookie.

I followed the recipe exactly as written, but added a few drops of pink food coloring and raspberry flavoring to the plain dough. So instead of having a brown and white cookie dough, I ended up with a brown and pink.

Use chocolate ganache to make sandwiches with the cut-outs showing through:

You can even make sandwiches out of the cutouts:

Handle with care, or you may end up with a broken heart:

Maybe you’d like to give a little Valentine’s gift? Package these cookies in a little box with ribbon:

Valentine’s Two-Tone Cookie Crinkles

  • 1 cup Butter, softened
  • 1 cup Sugar
  • 1 Egg
  • 1 teaspoon Vanilla
  • 2 1/4 cup Flour
  • 1 teaspoon Baking Powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon Salt
  • 1/4 cup Cocoa Powder
  • Pink Food Coloring
  • Raspberry or Strawberry Flavoring Oil
  • Chocolate Ganache
  • Powdered Sugar (Optional)

Cream butter and sugar until light and fluffy. Beat in egg and vanilla. Stir in flour, baking powder, and salt.

Divide dough in half. Stir cocoa into one portion of dough. Add a few drops of pink food coloring and flavoring to the other half. Cover and chill the dough for a few hours, until dough is easy to handle.

Roll each half to 1/8-1/4 thick on a floured surface. Cut dough into desired shapes with cookie cutters. Place cutouts on ungreased cookie sheets.

Bake in preheated 375 (F) degree oven for 8-10 minutes. Remove from cookie sheet and allow to cool.

Spoon 1 teaspoon Chocolate Ganache in the center of the bottom side of each cookie without a cutout. Top each with a cutout cookie. If desired, sprinkle with powdered sugar. Also, make mini sandwich cookies by “gluing” to of the cutouts with Chocolate Ganache.

To make your own Chocolate Ganache: Place 4 ounces of high quality bittersweet chocolate in a bowl. Heat 1/2 cup whipped cream in a saucepan until it just begins to bubble around the edges. Pour hot whipping cream over the chocolate and stir with a wire whisk until mixture is smooth. Cover and chill for 30 minutes, or until mixture has thickened. Makes about 3/4 cup.

Comments
6 Responses to “Valentine’s Two-Tone Cookie Crinkles”
  1. Tami says:

    Krista, your cookies are absolutely adorable! I love the way you packaged them!

    I’ve added you to the end of month round up. http://tamiskitchentabletalk.blogspot.com/2011/02/january-cookie-carnival-round-up.html

    I apologize for not adding it. I looked again but it’s not there. I must have accidentally deleted it. I’m sorry!!

    Hope to see you at the end of the month for the new round up! 🙂

    Tami

  2. Lisa says:

    These cookies are so pretty and I love the ones you made with the ganache peeking through. These cookies will definitely make someone’s Valentine’s Day special. I’m starting a new linky on my blog this Saturday called “Sweets for a Saturday.” If you get a chance, I invite you to come by then and link this up.

    • meettheswans says:

      Lisa – Thank you for your comment and offer to join your linky! I’m sorry I’m just now getting around to responding and I missed it! I’m not sure if it is something you are doing again or not, but I will add a link if I see it tomorrow!

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] a Valentine’s Day themed dessert. If you don’t have time to decorate sugar cookies, or heart cut-out cookies like these, you can make the simple, fast and easy Heart Shaped […]

  2. […] or neighbors and want a change of pace from decorated sugar cookies, either this cookie or the Valentine’s Two-Tone Crinkle Cookies I posted a couple weeks ago would be a good […]



Leave a Reply

