DIY: Decorating The Kitchen

A few weeks ago I was browsing through a department store looking for anything that would catch my eye as something I could use to decorate our office or kitchen. I saw this sign saying “Faith” and looked at it for a while.

It wasn’t big enough for the space I wanted to fill and although I think “Faith” is appropriate in any room I was really hoping to find something that was kitchen themed.

A few minutes later I walked by the Christmas clearance section. I always get distracted by the word “clearance” and I was especially distracted when I saw a stand with ornaments marked down to $0.99. They were originally $12+. Not to mention the fact that I had a coupon for 20% off all sale and clearance items – even better!

Then I saw a huge, huge picture of santa….

Original price, $120. Seriously. I even took a picture of the tag.

Clearance price, $4.99. And don’t forget my 20% off coupon! When I checked out the lady commented on the great deal I just got on the picture. I told her I didn’t want the picture, I only wanted the frame. My biggest regret is that I didn’t buy the only other one left. I went back a few days later and it was gone. I really wish I had it now…

I knew exactly what I wanted to do with it. I went to a craft store and bought a pieces of foam board, white canvas fabric, some textured scrapbook paper, foam brushes and a few shades of red, blue and white acrylic paint. My total bill there was less than $15.

I took apart the frame and threw away santa. I cut the foam board down to the right size and covered it with white canvas fabric, using a staple gun to secure it.

I cut the textured scrapbook paper into 7 4″x12″ pieces. I used different shades of paint to cover the background on the papers, making each one a little different.

Then I used a angled paintbrush to draw letters onto each of the pieces to spell the work “Kitchen”.

I used packing take to secure them to the canvas and then placed the foam board in the frame.

The whole thing cost less than $20 and only took a couple hours from start to finish. And I love it!

Comments
2 Responses to “DIY: Decorating The Kitchen”
  1. Megan says:

    This is very cute and what a bargain you got on that frame!

Leave a Reply

