Coconut Banana Bread with Coconut Lime Sauce

Before I take a bit of a tangent I want to show a picture of my Coconut Banana Bread with Coconut Lime Sauce… hopefully that will keep your attention!

I can’t believe it’s been such a long time since my last post! The reason I haven’t posted in more than a month is partially due to getting sick. I was completely unproductive for a while with a sickness that turned out to be salmonella. The doctor’s office has to turn the “case” in to the local health department; and I then received a phone call from them with a lot of questions about where I had been, what I had done, and everything I had eaten.

The lady I talked to informed me that more cases of salmonella come from touching something rather than eating something. Interesting, huh? I learned a statistic that I would probably rather not know; but I guess is probably important to share: 70% of shopping carts have fecal matter on them (yes, I really just announced that on a food blog). Like I said, it’s important to share.  I always wash my hands immediately when I get home from the store, but one thing I had never thought of: a piece of gum….. The lady from the health department informed me that if someone has salmonella –> doesn’t wash their hands –> touches a shopping cart –> I touch the shopping cart –> I put a sick of gum in my mouth –> I get salmonella… it can be transferred that easily! The moral of the story = USE THE WIPES THE STORES PROVIDE BY THE CARTS!

Now that you may be completely grossed out, I’m moving on to the recipe I want to share with you.

I recently hosted a Pampered Chef Open House to show off some of the new spring products. Pamepered Chef also comes out with a new mini-cookbook called “Season’s Best” each spring and fall. The recipes generally incorporate some of the new products.

I personally wasn’t real interested in most of the recipes in the new Season’s Best Recipe Book. Although some of the recipes look delicious, I feel like most of them either use unusual ingredients (meaning ingredients/foods I don’t use or eat often) or tons of ingredients and steps. And because my Open House was from 10-2 I wanted to incorporate at least one food that could be a “breakfast food” and use one of the new seasonings or sauces. Nothing in it really fit the bill, so I developed my own.

I modified a coconut banana bread recipe from a Cooking Light cookbook I have (I have several Cooking Light cookbooks and I love them) to make Coconut Banana Bread with Coconut Lime Sauce. It was a big hit, and it is somewhat low-fat!

Krista’s Coconut Banana Bread with Coconut Lime Sauce (modified from the Cooking Light Comfort Food Cookbook)
  • ¼ cup Butter
  • 1 cup Sugar
  • 2 Eggs
  • 1 ½ cups Bananas, mashed (about 3 bananas)
  • 1/3 cup Plain Low-Fat Yogurt
  • 1 teaspoon Rum Extract
  • 1 teaspoon Vanilla Extract
  • 2/3 cup Flaked Sweetened Coconut
  • ¾ teaspoon Baking Soda
  • ½ teaspoon Salt
  • 2 cups Flour
  • 2 tablespoons Flaked Sweetened Coconut
  • ¼ cup Pampered Pantry Coconut Lime Sauce

Cream the butter and sugar. Beat in eggs, one at a time. Add banana, yogurt, and extracts. Beat until blended. Stir in coconut and dry ingredients until just blended.

Spoon batter into the STONEWARE LOAF PAN. Bake at 350°F for 1 hour or until a knife inserted in center comes out clean. Cool in pan 10 minutes and then remove from pan.

Place remaining 2 tablespoons of coconut in the loaf pan and toast in oven until lightly browned. While loaf is still warm drizzle COCONUT LIME SAUCE over the loaf and sprinkle with toasted coconut.

Comments
13 Responses to “Coconut Banana Bread with Coconut Lime Sauce”
  1. Deeba says:

    I guess germs travel a long way, and shopping carts are one of the many sources. Always good to have a ‘hands up’…
    That is one scrumptious looking cake. Love the flavours you got in there. Gorgeous!

  2. Megan says:

    My daughter has a shopping cart phobia and I always laugh at her. Guess I’m not laughing now. I’m going to at least start taking my own little basket for those smaller trips and avoid the dreaded basket a little bit.
    On a happy note, the bread looks wonderful. I love coconut, banana, and lime together.

  3. Amanda says:

    Mmm! Coconut lime sauce, I bet that’s amazing!

  4. Wow never occured to me that shopping carts are so dirty. There are probably so many things that we touch that are germ carries. I guess you could obsess about it and never touch anything! The banana bread looks so good. If I don’t have access to the pampered chef lime-coconut sauce, is there anything else you recommend. Sugar water & lime perhaps?

    • meettheswans says:

      Actually, I have a great recommendation – the original recipe from the Cooking Light Cookbook used a lime glaze that was made from 1 1/2 tablespoons of fresh lime juice and 1/2 cup of powdered sugar. I love banana, but I’m not a fan of coconut. Several of the people who tasted it thought it was good – definitely a unique flavor combo! If you try the recipe, let me know what you think!

  5. That is one amazing sounding banana bread! I’ll have to try to track down some of that lime sauce.

    And about the shopping carts – yes, they’re pretty dirty. It’s mostly from children with dirty hands or babies with dirty diapers. Thank goodness my grocery store provides the wipes right by the carts!

    • meettheswans says:

      Thanks for the comment Lana! Glad to hear your grocery stores are providing the wipes still. Wal-Mart and grocery stores in my area did have wipes in the heart of the winter, but unfortunately I’ve not seem them out in the last few weeks.

  6. nutmegnanny says:

    This looks amazing! I love that coconut lime twist…yum!

  7. caronlyn says:

    This looks delicious! Very original.

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] on The Novice Housewife, whom had seen it on Thru The Bugs On My Windshield, whom had seen it on Meet the Swans whom had seen it on Cooking Light Comfort Food Cookbook.  Somewhere along the way, the bananas in […]

  2. […] recipe began as Krista’s Coconut Banana Bread with Coconut Lime Sauce. The end result for me is not a huge deviation from Krista’s. One significant change, […]



Leave a Reply

