Chocolate Brownie Oatmeal Cookies – Cookie Carnival

I am really happy that Tami of Tami’s Kitchen Table Talk, selected this Chocolate Brownie Oatmeal Cookie recipe from Quaker Oats as one of the March “Cookie Carnival” recipes because I found a great new cookie recipe! Click the picture below to visit where she posts the monthly round-ups.

I made these cookies twice, the first time following the recipe from Quaker exactly, and the second time using fat-free cream cheese, milk chocolate instead of semi-sweet, and eliminating the nuts. Although I try to substitute fat-free cream cheese in foods I make that are not baked, I have never tried it in something baked before. I had not planned to when baking these, but I went to get cream cheese out of the fridge and a blog of FF was all I had. I figured I would give it a try to see how it turned out and…. I was surprised to discover how well it worked!!

The first batch of cookies were thick and fudgy, very moist. The texture of the second batch was different that the first, but still very good. The second batch was thinner and crispy, unlike the first.

Below you can find the recipe for my second batch. Since I did not alter anything in the first batch, I have not posted it – you can find the original recipe on the Quaker Oats website by clicking here.

In case you are wondering, the picture in this post is from batch number two – with the FF cream cheese!

Krista’s Chocolate Brownie Oatmeal Cookies (adapted from Quaker Oats)

  • 8 ounces Fat Free Cream Cheese
  • 1/2 cup Butter, softened
  • 1  cup Brown Sugar
  • 1/2  cup Sugar
  • 2  Eggs
  • 1/2  teaspoon Vanilla
  • 12 ounces Milk Chocolate Chips, melted
  • 1-1/2  cups Flour
  • 1-1/2  teaspoons Baking Soda
  • 3  cups Oatmeal, uncooked
  • Powdered sugar

Beat cream cheese, butter and sugars until creamy. Add eggs and vanilla and beat well. Stir in the melted chocolate until thoroughly combined. Stir in flour, baking soda and oats. Cover and chill for at least one hour.

Shape dough into balls and place on an ungreased cookie sheet. Bake in preheated 350°F over for 8 to 10 minutes or until cookies are almost set. Cool one minute on cookie sheets, the remove to cool completely on a wire rack. Sprinkle with powdered sugar, if desired.

You may be interested in some of my past “Cookie Carnival’ posts:

Valentine’s Two-Tone Cookie Crinkles

Sassy Cinnamon-Scotch Cookies

Pumpkin Cran-Oat Cookies

Banana Breakfast Cookies

Apple Butter Cookies

Coconut Cherry Bars

Comments
3 Responses to “Chocolate Brownie Oatmeal Cookies – Cookie Carnival”
Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] This month, my assigned blog was Meet The Swans. Krista is an adorable blogger that posts some amazingly delicious looking recipe. She has tons of recipes for sweet treats, but I love that she balances it out with some healthy breads and dips! I had lots of fun looking through all her recipes, but ultimately settled on a dessert since it seemed to be her specialty. Plus, I needed something to bake for the hubby’s birthday a couple weeks ago I narrowed it down to four recipes, then two and then finally after what seemed like forever, I settled on these Chocolate Brownie Oatmeal Cookies. […]

  2. […] month’s Cookie Carnival recipe – the Chocolate Brownie Oatmeal Cookies that I recently posted here – was from the Quaker Oats website. When I went to the Quaker website to get that recipe, I decided […]



Leave a Reply

