Cheesy Garden Veggie Muffins

Nice weather has (finally) arrived in our area and there is a lot of action outdoors in our community now: people planting flowers and working in their yard and tractors and planters in the fields. We mowed our lawn 3 times in the last 10 days! Fortunately farmers in the area had more than a week of wonderful weather to get work done in the fields, which means Mr. Swan has been very busy! I knew the last month was a busy one, but it’s hard to believe an entire month has slipped by since my last post!

It’s good that I participate in a few blogging groups with set posting dates – that is good motivation to be sure I get some posts done!

Last month was the first round of the “Secret Recipe Club” and I posted this Reduced Fat Maple & Brown Sugar Oatmeal Bread. I’ve made it a couple times since then. The bread is delicious and makes amazing French Toast! Refer to that post for more information on the club.

Like I mentioned last month, the “club” is open to anyone with a food blog. Click here to fill out the form to participate in the future!

This time my blog is Tami’s Kitchen Table Talk. If you’ve been reading my blog, you’ve heard about her quite a bit! She started the Cookie Carnival which I participate in nearly every month. She normally selects the recipes for each month and this posts a round-up at the end of the month. To see my past Cookie Carnival posts, click here. Tami was so sweet to think of me, she asked a couple months ago if I would be willing to host the Cookie Carnival round-up in May. At the end of the month you can find the Cookie Carnival wrap-up here. Of course Tami has a lot of cookies and desserts on her blog, but she also posts several main dishes, sides and other savory foods. I am most definitely going to try out her Lime Glazed Boneless Pork Loin soon! I considered that recipe for this post, but decided against it because I have the hardest time photographing meats. Instead I chose her Garden Veggie Muffins: quick, easy and the perfect addition to our “burgers on the grill” meal tonight!

I made a few small changes to her recipe, but nothing major. I chopped my vegetables and doubled the quantity and left off the cream cheese spread but instead added shredded cheddar cheese to the batter. I baked for 12 minutes at 400 (F) degrees. Refer back to Tami’s recipe if you are interested in her cream cheese spread!

The veggies:

You can see the veggies baked inside:

Cheesy Garden Veggie Muffins, adapted from Tami’s Kitchen Table Talk

1 box Corn Muffin Mix
1 Egg
3/4 cup Milk
1 cup California Blend Frozen Vega tables, finely chopped
1/2 cup Shredded Cheddar Cheese
Thaw California Blend Vegetables and chop into small pieces. Drain as much of the moister off the vegetables as possible. Set aside.

Stir egg and milk into the corn muffin mix until just moistened. Let sit for five minutes and then stir vegetables and cheese into batter. Pour evenly into 6  greased muffin tins. Bake in preheated 400 (F) degree oven for 12 minutes. Remove from pan and allow to cool slightly before serving – very tasty while still warm!

Click the link below to visit other “Secret Recipe Club” posts!

Comments
21 Responses to “Cheesy Garden Veggie Muffins”
  1. What a great way to get more veggies in during the day. They look yummy.

  2. Nutmeg Nanny says:

    I love the addition of veggies to the muffins! I bet it makes them taste delicious 🙂

  3. Jeanette says:

    What a great recipe to try – I’ve never added veggies to muffins but I love the idea – bet that would get kids to eat more vegetables!

  4. Delishhh says:

    Very nice! Great recipe for Secret club! Love going around to see what everyone made!

  5. Katrina says:

    Those look great. Love the idea of veggies inside a corn muffin. Thanks for the reminder I need to get to Cookie Carnival. 😉

  6. Ruchi says:

    Am definitely going to give this a try to get some more veggies into my family’s diet :)!

  7. I have never thought of baking veggies into a muffin – great idea!

  8. meettheswans says:

    Thanks for all of your comments! These are a great way to “sneak” veggies!

  9. Tami says:

    Glad to hear that you liked them! I like the changes that you made, too.

  10. Deeba says:

    One of the neatest way to get the veggies in Krista. Love your twist to the veggies. Your title had me hungry at the very thought! What a great pick for the SRC!

  11. Kristen says:

    What a great way to get kids to eat their veggies! Of course my children and husband would ruin all the good points of the recipe by slathering a ton of butter all over the muffins, but hey, there would still be vitamins hidden under all that butter 🙂

  12. Shelby says:

    These savory muffins look DELISH!

  13. Tessa says:

    These were a great choice! Isn’t SRC fun!

  14. Shumaila says:

    What a wonderful way to eat all those veggies!

  15. sara says:

    This sounds terrific! Love the idea of putting veggies into muffins like this – a great idea! 🙂

  16. What a great way to sneak some veggies into your diet!

  17. These muffins sound so tasty and, being a big fan of veggies, I love that there’s some mixed in with them.

  18. Fabulous looking muffins! Great way to get some veges to the kids.

  19. Amanda says:

    These look great Krista! Love the idea of the veggies baked inside. So glad you played along this month!

  20. Ooh yum! I love the sound of these…. great choice for the Secret Recipe Club!

Leave a Reply

