Strawberry Rhubarb Bars – Cookie Carnival

Strawberry Rhubarb Bars3

I was excited to have the opportunity to choose the recipes for this month’s Cookie Carnival! Normally Tami (who came up with the idea) at Tami’s Kitchen Table Talk choose the recipes and hosts the round-up. Click the picture below to visit where she posts the monthly round-ups.

I thought the two recipes I selected were perfect for May, but unfortunately I only had time to bake one of them during May.

I started with the recipe for Strawberry-Rhubarb Bars on the Better Homes & Gardens website.

Start with an oatmeal crust:

Make a strawberry and rhubarb filling:

Enjoy:

I made a number of small changes to the recipe. I altered the filling because I wanted to use up more of the rhubarb I had. I realize that the sugar in the filling is in the recipe to balance out the tartness of the rhubarb, but I decreased the sugar (while increasing the rhubarb) because I do not mind the tart flavor – I thought it was a tasty complement to the sweet cinnamon spiced oatmeal crust.

I also left off the ginger icing, added cinnamon and left out the ginger, and used cran-raspberry juice (light) in place of water.

Krista’s Strawberry Rhubarb Bars – Modified from Better Homes & Gardens

  • 1 1/2 cups Oatmeal
  • 1 cup Flour
  • 3/4 cup Sugar
  • 1 teaspoon Cinnamon
  • 3/4 cup Butter
  • 3 cups Chopped Fresh Rhubarb
  • 1/4 cup Sugar
  • 1/4 cup Cran-Raspberry Juice
  • 2 cups Chopped Strawberries

In bowl stir together oats, flour, and 3/4 cup sugar. Use a pastry blender to cut butter into dry mixture until the mixture is crumbly. Remove 1 1/2 cups of the oatmeal mixture and set aside. Press remaining oatmeal mixture evenly into the bottom of the pan. Bake 20 minutes in preheated 350 (F) degree oven.

While that is baking, place rhubarb, 1/4 cup sugar, and juice in a saucepan. Cook about 8 minutes until filling is beginning to thicken. Add strawberries. Cooking 5 more minutes. Remove from heat. Spoon all of the filling over the baked oatmeal crust. Sprinkle with reserved oatmeal mixture and press lightly into rhubarb filling.

Bake 30 minutes. Remove from oven and cool in pan on wire rack. Cut into bars and enjoy! Drizzle with icing if desired.

 

You may also be interested in some of my past “Cookie Carnival’ posts:

Valentine’s Two-Tone Cookie Crinkles

Sassy Cinnamon-Scotch Cookies

Pumpkin Cran-Oat Cookies

Banana Breakfast Cookies

Apple Butter Cookies

Coconut Cherry Bars

Chocolate Brownie Oatmeal Cookies

Comments
6 Responses to “Strawberry Rhubarb Bars – Cookie Carnival”
  1. meganpires says:

    These look awesome. I need to bake more with rhubarb. Bookmarked!

    • meettheswans says:

      Thanks Megan! I don’t think I’d ever even tried something with rhubarb before this year. My husband really likes it so I baked quite a few things earlier this summer, we really enjoyed everything!

  2. Subbing juice for the water is a great idea. They look great!

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] plenty of great recipes and I had no trouble finding inspiration. The minute I saw a recipe for Strawberry Rhubarb Crumb Bars that Krista adapted from Better Homes and Gardens, I knew I had to recreate. I adore rhubarb and […]

  2. […] Rhubarb Crisp, Two Peas and Their Pod Strawberry Rhubarb Cobbler, Hooiser Homemade Strawberry Rhubarb Bars, The Swans Strawberry Rhubarb Compote, Gina’s Skinny Recipes Strawberry Rhubarb Preserves, […]

  3. […] Krista, The Whole Mix · Tagged with Bars, Cookies, Ice Cream, Rhubard, Strawberry, Sweets ← Strawberry Rhubarb Bars – Cookie Carnival LikeBe the first to like this […]



Leave a Reply

