Strawberry Yogurt Cheesecake with Dense Eggless Brownie Crust

It’s that time again, another round of the Secret Recipe Club! Amanda of Amanda’s Cookin’ came up with the idea earlier this year. She maintains the list of participants and assigns the recipes. The “club” is open to anyone with a food blog. Click here to fill out the form to participate in the future!

Now, be prepared to get hungry… this post is loaded with pictures!

This time I was assigned to this blog, Ruchi’s Simply Food. Ruchi has been running her blog for a couple of years and recently published her 100th post! A big accomplishment!  She recently started a series called “Wordless Wednesday” in which she posts a food picture, like the saying goes, “a picture is worth 1,000 words”. I think this is a great idea – a good way to keep posts up when busy and you find yourself with little time for baking for fun and posting!

I noticed that, especially in some of the earlier posts, Ruchi’s blog had a lot of cupcake recipes. I quickly picked out the Really Dense Eggless Chocolate Cake with a wonderful Vanilla Buttercream Frosting. As I continued to browse the site I came across this post that mentions the Strawberry Yogurt and Cream Cheesecake Ruchi made. If you look at the photo in that post, her cheesecake on the bottom left side.

Since Ruchi discussed the process she followed for the cheesecake but didn’t really write out the recipe I decided it wouldn’t be good to use for my whole Secret Recipe Club post… but then I got the idea to baked the Chocolate Cake in a springform pan, and top with a layer of cheesecake – combining the two recipes into one delicious dessert!

I had not tried an eggless chocolate cake before, and it was definitely very dense with a texture that to me, was more brownie-like than cake-like, which is why I refer to it as a brownie in my post title. I made a few small changes to the recipe as I went to correct for the need for extra liquid that Ruchi mentioned and because I thought maybe this recipe had a little too much acidic ingredients compared to other similar recipes I have seen.

I thought the finished product was a little dry side. Mr. Swan and I both agreed we would rather have had our favorite brownie recipe as the base on this cheesecake. However, the dryness could have been a result of my changes which could have made the recipe worse instead of improving it. Nonetheless, I would still make the topping over a chocolate brownie/cake again!

I developed the strawberry yogurt cheesecake recipe following Ruchi’s example in her post. It turned out very good for a “no-bake” cheesecake! I also used reduced fat cream cheese and fat free yogurt, and topped it with fresh strawberries… I realize that when you put this on top of a brownie crust it is like going to McDonald’s an ordering a Diet Coke with a Big Mac… but doesn’t it make you feel a little better about eating dessert?

Krista’s Dense Eggless Brownies (modified from Ruchi’s Simply Food)

  • 2 teaspoons Vinegar
  • 3/4 cup Milk
  • 1 1/2 cups Flour
  • 1/3 cup Cocoa Powder
  • 1 teaspoon Baking Soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon Salt
  • 1 cup Sugar
  • 1/2 cup Oil
  • 2 teaspoons Vanilla

Measure two teaspoons of vinegar into a liquid measuring cup. Add milk to reach 3/4 cup total. Let stand for 5 minutes.
Meanwhile sift flour, cocoa, soda, and salt. In a separate bowl, stir together the sugar and oil. Add vanilla and milk mixture. Finally, stir in the dry ingredients until just mixed.

For soft cupcakes, Ruchi notes it is important to stir in the same direction and do not change directions.

Spoon batter into grease 8″ springform pan. Bake in preheated 350 (F) degree oven for 15 minutes or until toothpick inserted in center comes out clean. For cupcakes like Ruchi’s, spoon batter into 12 greased and/or lined cupcake cups.

Krista’s Easy Strawberry Yogurt No-Bake Cheesecake (inspired by Ruchi’s Simply Food)

  • 16 ounces Reduced Fat Cream Cheese
  • 1/2 cup Sugar
  • 8 ounces Fat-Free Strawberry Yogurt
  • 1 cup Fresh Strawberries, chopped
  • Strawberries or Strawberry Sauce for Garnish

Beat cream cheese and sugar. Stir in yogurt and chopped strawberries. Spread on top of cooled brownie crust. Refrigerate for a few hours until firm.

If desired garnish with strawberries and/or strawberry sauce. Remove sides of springform pan. Cut into slices to serve.

Here’s a piece, just for you!

All of the Secret Recipe Club posts will be online at the same time this morning – want to check out what recipes all of the others picked out? Click the link below!

Comments
20 Responses to “Strawberry Yogurt Cheesecake with Dense Eggless Brownie Crust”
  1. That looks like such a simple and delicious cheesecake mixture! I’m definitely trying that as soon as I can eat dairy again!

  2. amanda says:

    Mmm, it looks delicious even if it was a little dry for your tastes. I would’ve never thought of a yogurt cheesecake but I totally see how it works!

  3. oh WOW. This looks absolutely fabulous. Great creation, love how you combined them both. Eggless recipes aren’t necessarily bad, you just have to find the right one!

  4. Lisa~~ says:

    This is my first month in The Secret Recipe Club and it’s so much fun! I’m just loving all the new blogs and recipes I’m seeing. This cake looks wonderful and I’m so happy to have found your blog.

  5. I love that you combined two recipes to make something that looks so amazing! Brownie and cheesecake are such a delciious combo!

  6. Ruchi says:

    Thanks for taking the time to read the blog and coming up with this new gorgeous recipe. Yours looks so fabulous…..

  7. That looks beautiful! What a great dessert for a party.

  8. Wonderful cake – looks so elegant and light!

  9. Tessa says:

    Strawberries + chocolate + cheesecake. You don’t need to say any more!

  10. sara says:

    Oooh, this looks SO delicious! Love the combination of cheesecake and brownies – you can’t get better than that! 🙂

  11. I’ve never thought to use brownies as a cheesecake crust. What a yummy idea!

  12. Cheese and brownies. The photos say it all. Just yum. that is all.

Leave a Reply

