Caramelized Onion Dip

For this month’s edition of the Secret Recipe Club I was assigned to the Authentic Suburban Gourmet blog. Lisa, born and raised in the San Fransisco Bay area, is the author of the blog. The first thing I did was scope out her “About/Contact” page where I quickly came across this sentence: “I have an immense affinity for great food, wine and entertaining”. I like her already, I thought to myself….

A little farther down the page I found: “I enjoy taking every opportunity to share my love of cooking with others by throwing dinner and cocktail parties, baking cookies and cooking for my “number one fan”, my husband Charles”. If that would have said “my husband Brett”, I could have easily mistaken that sentence as something I wrote about myself!

Needless to say, when it comes to food, wine, and entertaining – I think Lisa and I are very much alike!

Right after I received my blog assignment I browsed her site and bookmarked a few recipes that I thought I might want to use for this post. For example, aren’t these Chocolate Pretzel Cookies too cute? Or what about Lisa’s take on the ordinary 7 layer bar? Her version is 9 layers and includes caramel! Then there’s the Crostini with Roasted Tomato Compote and Mozzarella, which looks like a cousin to bruschetta, of which I am a big fan!

Then last week I went back to Authentic Suburban Gourmet to make a decision, and I couldn’t help but notice the most recent post: Caramelized Onion Dip. It sounded too delicious not to try!

My version uses purple onions…

I thought it would be fun to see the color in the dip.

I also went for a “healthier version” but cutting the butter back to 1 tablespoon and using fat free cream cheese and fat free sour cream as the base to my dip.

Before I bring you my recipe, I also want to mention that Lisa has a number of posts where she mentions food and wine pairing and experiences as wine festivals. If you are a “wino” you may enjoy looking for those posts on her blog!

Ultimate Caramelized Onion Dip

  • 3 Large Purple Onions (Peeled, cut in half and slices 1/4 inch thick)
  • 1 tablespoon Butter
  • 2 tablespoons Sugar
  • 1/2 teaspoon Salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon Black Pepper

Melt butter over medium heat in a large skillet. Add onions, sugar, salt, and pepper. Stir onions frequently while cooking over medium heat until tender and golden in color, about 15 minutes. Set aside to cool.

  • 1 package (8 ounces) Fat Free Cream Cheese (Regular or Reduced Fat, if desired)
  • 1/2 cup Fat Free Sour Cream (Regular or Reduced Fat, if desired)
  • 1/2 cup Feta Cheese
  • 2 teaspoons Worcestershire Sauce
  • 2 teaspoons Onion Powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon Black Pepper

Beat cream cheese and sour cream until completely smooth. Stir in feta cheese, Worcestershire, onion powder, and pepper. Add the caramelized onions and stir together. (And I agree with Lisa… ) Refrigerate and let sit about one hour prior to serving to let the flavors combine. Taste to see if you need to adjust the seasonings.

This dip is delicious – definitely an amped-up version of any french onion dip you have purchased or made using the soup mix!!

If you would like to find out more or would like to join the Secret Recipe Club, started by Amanda of Amanda’s Cookin‘, click here.

If you’d like to see what recipes other Secret Recipe Club participants made this month, click the link below.



Comments
38 Responses to “Caramelized Onion Dip”
  1. That looks soooo good, so creamy. I’d want to try it using Greek yogurt as well.

  2. Shumaila says:

    My husband would love this dip! Great pick for SRC!

  3. Veronica says:

    *drool* this looks and sounds heavenly!

  4. Looks AMAZING. I’m a chip and dip addict. Especially onion dip. This will kick the lipton soup mix dip’s butt! I’m making it ASAP!

  5. Amanda says:

    Sounds delicious Krista, I have featured this today on SRC! http://secretrecipeclub.com/caramelized-onion-dip-the-swans/

  6. Good idea to use the purple onions for the color!

  7. Such a fun dip for parties! So fun to be in the Secret Recipe Club with you.

  8. Mrs. Jen B says:

    Delicious! I just love carmelized onions. Your photos are so pretty, too! 🙂

  9. Kelly says:

    Oo this dip looks fantastic! What a great recipe 🙂 Loving your blog and so glad to be a new follower! xoxo

  10. Jeanette says:

    Great choice for SRC – so interesting with feta in this dip, and I love the lighter version this recipe makes of a popular onion dip.

    • meettheswans says:

      I think it’s always great to lighten up dip recipes, and it works well because they usually aren’t cooked. Thanks for the comment Jeanette, and for stopping by my blog!

  11. Melanie says:

    Oh, I’ve been looking for something to place the standard onion soup mix dip! This recipe looks like it will do the trick and then some! Great choice!

  12. Gloria says:

    I’m a total sucker for onion dip. This one looks delicious and I think I can even give up a few guilt feelings eating this because of the lightened version. 🙂

    • meettheswans says:

      I agree! You can’t sub FF sour cream and FF cream cheese into everything, but you certainly can in dips! And, generally there’s so much flavor in dips that no one is ever going to notice.

  13. Shelby says:

    This looks delicious, sounds flavorful and I love how you lightened it up!

  14. Caroly says:

    Yummy choice for the SRC. I’d love to try this.

  15. There is nothing better than caramelized onion! I cannot wait to try this one – it’s going on my football snack list for the upcoming season!

  16. Jo says:

    I haven’t made onion dip in a long time, this one looks great! I love your use of the red onions, it gives such a nice color to the final product.

  17. I love caramelized onions…. especially in dip form!

  18. Good Morning! Loved your post and how you “kicked up” the onion dip with the purple onions and your own twists. I will have to explore your blog more – looks like you have some fun and tasty things. Glad that you enjoyed my site. Have a terrific week ahead! 🙂

  19. Isn’t Lisa’s blog great?!?! You did a great job with this onion dip…I pinned that one to try as well! The purple onions look so pretty…did they come out sweet like a maui onion? This is my first Secret Recipe Club month, and it’s so much fun!!

    • meettheswans says:

      Her blog is great! The onions were sweet… a little more subdued than white or yellow may be. I actually couldn’t help but eat a few of the onions before they were added to the dip! =)

      • Sarah says:

        This sounds delicious. Since you can (and did! heehee) eat red onions raw, maybe it would be nice to chop up a small amount into fine dice and not cook them, then mix them in at the end with the sour cream. I do love caramelised onions. 🙂 Great choice!

      • meettheswans says:

        I didn’t eat any of the onions raw, I ate some of the delicious cooked onions before adding them to the dip! But, like you said, raw onions are definitely edible so adding them to the dip is an idea if that fits your preferences!

      • meettheswans says:

        PS: Thanks for the comment and stopping by my blog =)

  20. Love a good onion dip! It’s my weakness, thanks!

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] may remember me describing the Secret Recipe Club in my last post with the group for this Caramelized Onion Dip? The group has grown to now include SO many members that the club now has a website, a three […]

  2. […] Check out Krista’s recipe for Caramelized Onion Dip. […]



Leave a Reply

