No Knead Honey Wheat Bread

Yesterday I received an e-mail from Amanda of Amanda’s Cookin’. She was looking for volunteers to participate in a “special project” for this afternoon’s post. Not knowing what was in store, I told her I would participate. As you may remember, she was the brains behind the Secret Recipe Club that she started a few months ago… which has exploded in popularity since. I missed out on getting signed up to participate this month, so I volunteered for this opportunity.

As it turns out one of the hundreds of bloggers who volunteered to participate in the club this month ended up not doing their post. This means another poor participant was left to anxiously await one of their recipes showing up on another one of the blogs…. to sadly find out that person didn’t ever do it. Amanda came up with the idea to get several of us to choose a recipe from that blog – Connor’s Cooking – not only as a way to cheer up Raina who is the author of Connor’s Cooking, but also to demonstrate a sense of community in the food blogger world! A great idea indeed, I’m happy I could join in!

My go-to recipe under a quick time frame would normally be a sweet, but right now I am in the midst of 4 wedding cakes in a 5 week period… so we don’t need any more dessert in our house right now. I quickly found the recipe of Raina’s site for No Knead Whole Wheat Honey Sandwich Bread. Despite that fact that I bake a ton of cookies and cakes, yeast products are actually my favorite things to make. This recipe really caught my attention due for many reasons….

First of all, the flours and salt are whisked together and heated – show with the Pampered Chef Stainless Whisk:

Next dissolve yeast in part of the water and add the honey – shown in Pampered Chef Small Batter Bowl:

Let stand for ~5 minutes until the mixture rises and is foamy:

Mix with the flour (I just did this by hand) until the mixture comes together in a ball:

Form the ball into a loaf and set in a loaf pan (yes, that’s correct no rising before the loaf pan!):

I’ve never seen this one before – cover the loaf with saran wrap:

Let rise for 30-40 minutes:

Remove plastic wrap, bake, cool, remove from pan and this is what you end up with – I did find that the top of the loaf wasn’t too pretty because it pulled apart when I removed the plastic wrap but when I cut in and found out how great is tasted that didn’t bother me too much anymore:

Those at those big slices:

The bread was absolutely the perfect texture and it had a delicious flavor.

When I’m in a pinch for time, this will definitely be my go to bread in the future. I like a sweeter bread so I increased the honey and I try not to add too much fats to yeast breads so I decreased the oil, I actually switched the amounts of oil and honey listed in the original and other than that just made some slight changes in the procedure and flour.

Here’s my version (Adapted from Connor’s Cooking, who got the recipe from Baking Bites)

Krista’s No Knead Honey Wheat Bread

2 1/2-2 3/4  cups Whole Wheat Flour
2 cups All-Purpose Flour
1 1/2 teaspoon Salt

1 3/4 cups Warm Water (100-110 (F) degrees)
4 1/2 teaspoons active dry yeast (=2  0.5 ounce packs)
1/4 cup Honey
2 tablespoons Oil

In large microwave safe bowl, whisk 2 cups of the whole wheat flour, all-purpose flour, and salt to combine. Microwave for 30 seconds, until flour is very warm to the touch. Make a well in the center and set aside.

In a bowl (I used the Pampered Chef Small Batter Bowl) combine 1 cup of the water with the yeast and honey. Stir and let stand for 5 minutes, until yeast is foamy. Add in the remaining water and vegetable oil and pour liquid into the dry ingredient. Stir well with a wooded spoon to combine.

If you prefer to use a stand mixer, attach a a dough hook and mix until dough comes together into a smooth ball. Add the remaining 1/2-3/4 cup of flour as needed. Turn speed up to medium and mix for 1 minute.

If mixing by hand, gradually add in the remaining flour, mixing vigorously with a wooden spoon with each addition. Mix until dough comes together into a smooth ball an pulls away from the sides. Continue to push dough around with the wooden spoon for 1 additional minute after dough comes together smoothly.

Lightly grease a 9×5″ loaf pan (I used the Pampered Chef Stoneware Loaf Pan). Turn dough into the loaf pan and cover with a piece of plastic wrap. Allow to rise for 30-35 minutes, until dough rises 1″ above the sides of the pan. Preheat oven to 400 (F) degrees. After bread has risen, remove plastic wrap and place loaf pan in the oven. Bake for 30-35 minutes, until bread is dark golden brown. Cool in pan for 10 minutes before removing from the pan.

Click below for links to the recipes that other volunteer bloggers chose from Connor’s Cooking:

Comments
20 Responses to “No Knead Honey Wheat Bread”
  1. This looks delicious, I love home made bread and my go to has 2 processes of rising (as do most). This sounds like a great recipe to try.

    I did my first post this month too! Awesome of you to step in and help with this project.

    • meettheswans says:

      With breads I also do two risings as well. However, I think most pizza crusts don’t have an official rising time or just do about 10 minutes of rising… you want it to be a little puffy but not rise as much as bread. Thanks for stopping by and glad to hear you enjoy the SRC!

  2. Raina says:

    Thanks for taking part in making recipes from my blog! I loved this quick and easy bread also… And I’m a pampered chef junkie as well! 🙂

    Raina

    • meettheswans says:

      Thanks Raina! It was fun to participate! I’m a PC consultant actually… you should consider that if you love it – it’s a great way to get tons of products at a discount and even FREE!

  3. Pamela says:

    I think I can smell this! One trick I’ve learned with my breads is when it comes out of the oven I rub butter over the crust. That makes it as soft as the bread. I’ll be trying this one!

  4. This looks just delicious! I used to make all my bread but over the past few years I’ve gotten lazy about doing it. I think this beautiful no-knead loaf is just what I need to get back into bread baking!

  5. Shelby says:

    Your loaf of bread looks so good. I grew up on homemade bread and it is a treat when I get to eat it. I tend to not make a lot of bread because between Grumpy and I we don’t really go through a whole loaf in a week (usually two weeks!). Now that the weather is starting to change though I may be tempted to bake my own!

  6. You’re so awesome to pitch in like that. Your bread looks so lovely. I want a piece right now.

  7. Tami says:

    You had me at “no knead”! For some reason, I’m scared to death of trying to bake bread. I think that I could probably handle this recipe, though. It looks amazing. Your pictures are beautiful!

  8. Katrina says:

    I almost tried this but went with Poppy Chow. Looks great. Next time, just spray the plastic wrap with a little cooking spray and it won’t stick to the dough.

  9. Kate says:

    Your bread looks lovely…

  10. Lisa~~ says:

    Your bread looks amazing, a beautiful loaf. It was fun coming together and cooking from Connor’s Cooking. I hope that you’ll check out the Nutella Crêpes which I made from her blog.

    Lisa~~
    Cook Lisa Cook

Leave a Reply

