Barbeque Chicken Pizza Pockets

You may remember me describing the Secret Recipe Club in my last post with the group for this Caramelized Onion Dip? The group has grown to now include SO many members that the club now has a website, a three separate groups of bloggers posting on three separate dates throughout the month! Unbelievable how quickly the idea has caught on.

If you’d like to find the Secret Recipe Club website by clicking the image below!

Secret Recipe Club

This month I was assigned the blog “Quick & Easy, Cheap & Healthy” which truly is a great blog that lives up to the name. Anne, a mother of two young boys, is the author of the blog. With a family she knows how important it is to prepare healthy meals on a budget.

As you will notice if you visit her site, at the bottom of each post with a recipe Anne points out how it is “Quick”, “Easy”, “‘Cheap”, and “Healthy”. Another thing I really like about her recipes, is that most of her recipes do not use unusual ingredients or ingredients I don’t buy (such as some of the ingredients used on other “healthy” blogs).

One post that caught my attention was called “The Great Chicken Breast Adventure – Pock Sandwiches”. Click here to see it.

I liked the Barbeque Chicken Pocket Sandwiches recipe the best, and it reminded me of a Barbeque Chicken Pizza I make that Mr. Swan and I both love.

I decided to mix the barbeque with pizza sauce because I do that for the pizza. I also added mushrooms (we REALLY like mushrooms), and I made my own dough. I don’t ever buy bread or pizza dough because I make it from scratch, but if you wanted to purchase yours Anna suggests 1 pound of bread or pizza dough in her recipe. I’ve included my recipe for the dough and filling below. Be sure to compare to Anne’s version and make what you will like the most!

Thanks Anne for a great recipe with a few tweaks for our preferences! This was a big hit with my husband!

Dough:

  • 1 teaspoon Yeast
  • 1 cup Water, warm
  • 1 cup Flour
  • 2 tablespoons Sugar
  • 1 teaspoon Italian Seasoning

Filling:

  • 2 cups Chicken, cooked and shredded
  • 1/4 cup Barbeque Sauce
  • 1/4 cup Pizza Sauce
  • 4 ounces Mushrooms, sliced
  • 1 cup Mozzarella Cheese

For dough, stir yeast into a bowl with warm water. Set aside for 5 minutes. Meanwhile, mix flour, sugar, and seasoning in a medium bowl. After 5 minutes, stir yeast/water into the flour mixture. Let dough sit at room temperature for 30 minutes.*

For filling, combine cooked, shredded chicken with barbeque sauce, pizza sauce, and mushrooms if desired. Also try other vegetables to fit your preferences!

To assemble, divide dough into 4-6 even portions (depending on the number and size you want) and roll each portion into a 5″ circle. Sprinkle each circle with cheese and then spread 1/4-1/6 of chicken mixture in center of circle. Sprinkle each with remaining cheese. Fold dough over and seal the edges. Place on a pizza stone and brush lightly with water (Anne also suggests cutting a slit into the top of each but I missed this step and mine turned out fine – doing this would keep your bread from getting too thick and puffy. Mine was thick, but the “crust” is my favorite part!).  Bake at 450 (F) degrees for 10 minutes or until the crust is golden brown and cheese is melted.

*If you want to make this ahead then store in bowl in fridge. I actually made mine in the morning and stored in the fridge through the day. I set it out for 30 minutes at room temperature before I was ready to use it. I also divided into 4 portions and put two together to make two smaller pizza pockets and one large one (I was just experimenting). I also thought it would be fun to make one large pizza pocket and slice it as appetizers for a party!

Click on the link below to view other Secret Recipe Club posts:

Comments
36 Responses to “Barbeque Chicken Pizza Pockets”
  1. teaandscones says:

    I always have left over BBQ chicken and never know what to do with it. You can only eat it so many nights… This is perfect. Thanks for posting this SRC recipe.

  2. Holly says:

    So, we LOVE BBQ Chicken Pizza at our house. Put it in a pizza pocket and there might be a riot! I love this idea!

  3. Tami says:

    Such a yummy recipe that would be perfect for lunch, dinner or tailgating! We love mushrooms in things like this, too! Yum!

  4. Shelby says:

    Your dough looks so perfect! I am pretty sure these would go over well here in our home too, looks yummy!

  5. This brings back memories of barbecue chicken pizza that we used to always order in college! Sounds delish!

  6. Carolyn says:

    Yummmmmmeeeee! Great pick for the SRC.

  7. lisamichele says:

    BBQ chicken hot pockets from scratch – I love it! What a great choice for the SRC, they look and sound amazingly delicious!

  8. Katrina says:

    My husband would love these because he love Hot Pockets and the BBQ ones is his favorite.

    • meettheswans says:

      You should definitely try these Katrina! So easy for a quick meal and I’m thinking of making a big batch to keep in the freezer so they can be “made” as quickly as a Hot Pocket!

  9. Trisha says:

    These look delicious! Great choice for this months SRC!

  10. sara says:

    Ooooh, these look really delicious! 🙂 Great choice for this month!

  11. Lisa~~ says:

    These look so easy and they’d be a big hit in our home, great SRC choice.

    If you haven’t already, I’d love for you to check out my SRC recipe this month: Welsh Cakes.

    Lisa~~
    Cook Lisa Cook

  12. Peggy says:

    Oh yummy! I love pocket meals – all the convenience of dinner in a nice package =)

  13. Jaida says:

    These look/sound amazing…I am definitely craving a hot pocket now!!

  14. Noelle says:

    Wow, these sound so easy and delicious! YUM!

  15. I have such a soft spot for pizza pockets and panzerotti. There’s something about opening them up to reveal that gooey cheese filling that makes them a million times better than a regular flat pizza. 🙂
    Love the addition of italian seasoning to the crust, and the filling sounds positively delicious. Bet these would be great with pulled pork, too!

  16. Astrid says:

    I will make these for sure for my brunch with friends on Sunday! These look so very delicious!

  17. This is too funny! I just made these this past weekend:) Glad you liked my blog and my recipe. Usually I use the 5min artisan bread dough, but one of these days I’m going to try it with a quick pizza dough recipe like yours. Love the SRC!

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] Link: Barbeque Chicken Pizza Pockets « The Swans […]



Leave a Reply

