Cinnamon Spiced Butter Pecan Cookies – 12 Weeks of Christmas Cookies

UPDATE 10/7/2011: I was THRILLED to see the  CSI Project challenge theme for the week “Fall Food”! How amazing is that?! Click here to see all of the delicious challenge entries! Uhh-mazing! These easy Cinnamon Spiced Butter Pecan Cookies scream fall to me, but they are different than the traditional Apple and Pumpkin recipes that people think of for fall, so I’m entering this recipe/post!
Visit thecsiproject.com

I haven’t been able to participate in the Cookie Carnival since May when I  was a “guest host” for Tami of Tami’s Kitchen Table Talk, who runs and hosts the group. Summer always seems to fly by too quickly, and this summer – full of showers, weddings, and visiting family – was no different. Now that fall has arrived, work on the farm is picking up by the business of life has slowed down a bit! At least for a while… the holiday season is just around the corner!

With a little more time to participate in fun groups like this, I was excited to see what Tami’s picks would be for September. Instead of picking a specific recipe, for one of the cookies she decided to have a “cake mix challenge”.  I was inspired by a recipe I found for Giant Spice Cookies, a great cookie for the fall and winter months!

You may remember another group I participated in last year – the “12 Weeks of Christmas Cookies”? Well it’s already time for that to start up again! See what I mean by “holiday season just around the corner”?? This year the group has a different host, Brenda of Meal Planning Magic.

Inspired by the Giant Spice Cookies recipe, I came up with my own version using a Butter Pecan Cake Mix, cinnamon, and applesauce in addition to some of the other ingredients in that recipe. The results was very good! They kind of remind me of Lebkuchen’s, a German cookie that is popular in my family. My great-grandma lived across from my grade school and on occasion I would go to her house after school. On those days – or any other time I visited – it seemed like she always had a batch of those cookies waiting. I sprinkled all of the cookies with large sugar crystals before baking. After baking the first pan I decided the cookies could use a little more flavor, so with the remaining dough I rolled in cinnamon (you can see the difference in the picture below) before flattening on the cookie sheet and sprinkling with sugar.

Krista’s Cinnamon Spiced Butter Pecan Cookies

  • 1 (18.25 oz) Box Butter Pecan Cake Mix
  • 1/2 teaspoon Baking Soda
  • 1 teaspoon Cinnamon
  • 1/3 cup Applesauce
  • 1/3 cup Molasses
  • 1 tablespoon Vanilla

In a large bowl stir together the cake mix, baking soda, and cinnamon. Make a well in the center and add the applesauce, molasses and vanilla. Stir until all dry ingredients are incorporated with the wet ingredients. Scoop dough into medium sized balls and roll in cinnamon, if desired. Place on a cookie sheet and flatten slightly. Sprinkle with large sugar crystals. Bake for 12-15 minutes* in preheated 350 degree oven.

*Baking time may vary depending on oven and type of cookie sheet used; mine took 15 minutes using the Pampered Chef Stoneware Cookie Sheet. Typically cookies take slightly longer to bake on stoneware.

If you’d like to check out all of the recipes other bloggers chose for this round of the 12 Weeks of Christmas, click the image below!

Comments
14 Responses to “Cinnamon Spiced Butter Pecan Cookies – 12 Weeks of Christmas Cookies”
  1. Oh my goodness these look soo good! 😀

  2. Christina says:

    Spice cookies are the best…especially this time of year! I love that you used Butter Pecan Cake Mix for these cookies…I bet the flavor is just incredible! I can’t wait to give them a try! 🙂

    • meettheswans says:

      Thanks Christina! Using the cake-mix as a base is not something I normally do, but it turned out great. This would be a perfect cookie for someone pinched for time during the holiday season. I’m pretty sure anyone eating these wouldn’t have any idea!

  3. Louanne says:

    These look wonderful-perfect Christmas cookies!

  4. Jamie says:

    I love spice cookies. How unique to use a cake mix. These look perfect for fall and for the holiday season.

  5. Katrina says:

    Those look great and definitely perfect for the start of 12 Weeks. And those don’t look
    at all like they have cake mix.

  6. Mmm, you know how I feel about spice. Love your first pick. Glad to be baking along with you.

  7. Carrie says:

    Oh these looks so good! I’m a sucker for anything cinnamon!

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] from scratch, but in case you missed my post for “12 Weeks…” last Thursday, click here to see my Cinnamon Spiced Butter Pecan Cookies – which were also very easy and started with a […]



Leave a Reply

