Snowy Glazed Apple Squares – CSI Project

I was SO excited to see the these at the CSI Project this week: “Fall Food”! How amazing is that?! Thanks CSI for a great challenge theme! Click here to visit CSI Project post on the challenge and see all of the other delicious entries!

These were such a treat growing up, my mom made these bars for fall cook-outs and wiener roasts!  They are an amazing fall treat! A copy of the original posts follows:

Visit thecsiproject.com

In one month I will have an amazing kitchen, I have to repeat that to myself whenever I find myself thinking… I wish I could bake, I wish I could bake!

The primary hold-up right now is the counter-top. You cannot have a sink without a counter-top. We have the dishwasher, but have been told that it cannot be hooked up until the sink is installed. You get where I am going… there is a whole cycle of things just waiting on the counter-top.

Knowing that I would be without a kitchen for some time, I did bake one last thing in the Little House (name we gave the house I began renting in December where I lived until we moved to our house last week) before moving. This is the perfect time of year to enjoy these bars. In short, the are the bar version of apple pie. They only way to make these better would be to use apples from the backyard apple tree when making them. My mom brought me to big bags of apples from my parents apple tree over the weekend. Unfortunately that was after I made these with apples I bought. I guess I will just have to cut and freeze the home-grown apples so I can make more when the kitchen is finally put back together.

These apple bars are a family favorite, and an especially good fall-time treat. If fact, my whole family gathered for pictures at a state park over the weekend for family pictures. Afterward we went to one aunt and uncle’s to eat. My grandma made and brought these bars there. A few rows were gone right away… before the burgers even made it to the grill!

The original recipe is from a local cookbook, the one I refer to often. The are appropriately called “Snowy Glazed Apple Squares”. The original recipe in there uses corn flakes cereal. I wanted to switch it up a bit and add some extra flavor so I used Honey Bunches of Oats with Pecan Bunches cereal and increased the cinnamon.

Here is how they are made:

Cut butter into flour and sugar.

Beat egg yolks into milk.

Add to flour mixture and toss lightly.

Divide the dough in half and roll out to fit in pan.

Sprinkle crushed cereal flakes over the dough.

Like I mentioned before, I used Honey Bunches of Oat with Pecan Bunches but you could use any flaked cereal.

Spread apples over the cereal.

And then cinnamon and sugar.

Top with remaining dough.

Beat egg whites until foamy and spread on crust.

The finished product.

Krista’s Snowy Glazed Apple Squares:

  • 2 1/2 cups Flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon Salt
  • 1 cup Butter
  • 2 Eggs, separated
  • ~2/3 cup Milk
  • 1 1/2 cups Honey Bunches of Oats with Pecan Bunches, crushed*
  • 5 cups Apples, sliced
  • 1 cup Sugar
  • 1  1/2 – 3 teaspoons Cinnamon (to taste – I like 3!)
  • 1 1/4 cups Powdered Sugar
  • 3 tablespoons Water
  • 1/2 teaspoon Vanilla

Combine flour and sugar in a bowl and cut in butter until mixture resembles small crumbs. In a measuring cup, beat egg yolks with enough milk to make 2/3 cup. Add to flour mixture and toss lightly. Divide the dough in half. Roll one half to fill a 15×9 inch jellyroll pan. Sprinkle crushed cereal flakes over the dough. Spread apples over the cereal. Combine sugar and cinnamon and sprinkle over apples. Roll out the remaining dough to the same size and place on top. Press dough to seal edges. Beat egg whites until foamy and spread on crust. Bake in preheated 350 degree oven until apples are done (45-60 minutes).  Make a glazed by mixing the powdered sugar, water and vanilla. Cool slightly after removing from oven before spreading glaze on top. Cut into bars to serve. These are great while still warm!

*Or other flaky cereal of choice.

Comments
2 Responses to “Snowy Glazed Apple Squares – CSI Project”
  1. Wow, these look fabulous! My family would love these. We plan on going on a field trip on Friday and picking apples. Fingers crossed it doesn’t rain 🙂

  2. jeanine says:

    Wow. I love a good apple recipe! Have to check my pantry…these will be a hit in my family. Found you right next to my little square on the CSI challenge!

Leave a Reply

