Double Chocolate Almond Cookies – Secret Recipe Club

It’s time again for another round of the Secret Recipe Club which I’ve been participating in for several months now! It was started by Amanda of Amanda’s Cookin’ and has grown so much it now has it’s own website! Click here to visit the Secret Recipe Club and to find out more if you are interested in joining or seeing great recipes for other groups.

This month I was assigned The Slow Roasted Italian. One of the great things about this club – and also one of the reasons it was designed – was to get bloggers to choose a recipe for a blog they may not have visited or otherwise known about it. Before getting my assignment for the month I had not visited this blog. Donna, the author of the blog, has a great selection of recipes.

She has everything from Italian Style Mac & Cheese to Unique Burgers to some tasty looking Cocktails! The past few rounds I’ve branched away from sweets, but when I found these Double Chocolate Almond Cookies I knew what my selection would be!

Donna adapted this recipe from the Tate’s Bake Shop recipe. I noticed she made the addition of coffee, which I really liked – adding coffee to chocolate baked goods is always a good move!

To me it seemed like this recipe had a pretty high ratio of butter compared to other cookie recipes. I like thicker cookies so I reduced the amount of butter in this recipe. My version is below.

Krista’s Double Chocolate Almond Cookies

  • 1 cup Butter (unsalted)
  • 1 cup Sugar
  • 1 cup Brown Sugar
  • 2 Eggs
  • 2 teaspoons Vanilla Extract
  • 2 tablespoons Coffee, Room Temperature
  • 3/4 cup Cocoa
  • 2 1/2 cups Flour
  • 1 teaspoon Baking Soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon Salt
  • 1 cup White Chocolate Chunks
  • 1 cup Chocolate Chips
  • 1 cup Slivered Almonds

Cream butter and sugars in mixer. Beat in eggs, then vanilla and coffee. Stir in cocoa, flour, soda, and salt just until blended. By hand, stir in white chocolate, chocolate chips and slivered almonds. Drop by large spoonfuls on a cookie sheets. Baked at 350 (F) degrees until done.

Click the link below to visit the other Secret Recipe Club posts in today’s group.



Comments
24 Responses to “Double Chocolate Almond Cookies – Secret Recipe Club”
  1. Desi says:

    Those cookies are chock full of yumminess! White chocolate, chocolate, AND almonds?! YUM!!

    http://steaknpotatoeskindagurl.blogspot.com/2011/10/octobers-secret-recipe-club-avocado.html

  2. Katrina says:

    Looks like a great cookies recipe!

  3. Wonderful! My family is going to love these. Great SRC pick!

  4. Lori Lyn says:

    Hi,

    This recipe looks awesome, just one problem….you forgot to to put to cocoa on your list of ingredients

  5. Well, I thought I commented on Monday. When I stopped by.

    I am so glad you tried this recipe. How fun! I love the Secret Recipe Club! : )

  6. Ruchi says:

    I am in love with the almond flavor in baked goods… I add a 1/4 cup coarsely ground almonds to most of my cakes and cookies while baking!!!!

    I am sure this choco-almond combo rocked!

    • meettheswans says:

      Thanks! That’s a neat idea to add the ground almonds to baked goods. I didn’t put any almond extract in these cookies, but I would do that next time. Love the almond flavor in baked goods!

  7. They look delicious! Good choice!

  8. Trisha says:

    Love the almonds in these cookies, they look great!

  9. I love the addition of coffee to chocolate! Great choice for SRC, these look fabulous. I love Donna’s blog, she always has fantastic posts. I’m looking forward to pursuing more of your blog!

  10. Ilke says:

    Coffee, almonds, chocolate…whatelse a girl would ask for? (ok maybe a bit wine as well:) )
    Great cookies! If I can remember, these might make into the Christmas packs. I loved her site as well!

  11. Mmmm these cookies look insanely good!!! Great pick 🙂

  12. sara says:

    Oh, these cookies look so tasty! Chocolate and almonds are such a great pairing! 🙂

  13. Chocolate and almonds get my attention! Two of my favorite flavors.

  14. Lisa~~ says:

    Sound and look like delicious cookies.

    If you haven’t already, I’d love for you to check out my SRC recipe this month: Levain Chocolate Chip Walnut Cookies.

    Lisa~~
    Cook Lisa Cook

  15. My sister gave me that cook book and I love it. Must try these cookies. They look great!

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] out the recipe for Double Chocolate Almond Cookies. […]



Leave a Reply

