Overnight Potato Herb Bread – Secret Recipe Club

I’ve been participating in a group called the Secret Recipe Club since it was started last year in April. Amanda of Amanda’s Cookin‘ had the great idea for the club, which grew from a small group of bloggers to hundreds of bloggers in no time a all! The club even has a website now! If you’re interested in participating you can find everything you need to know there and you can check back there everyday to see featured recipes from past “SRC” reveals.

This month I was assigned “Crumb”. Isabelle, the Canadian author of the blog, started Crumb for the same reason I started my blog – as means of keeping record of the recipes she tried and created, for herself and to share with family and friends.

When I check out a blog it’s always fun to find something you have in common right away!

Isabelle has a great selection of recipes and an amazing categorized recipe index.

Due to my love of baking sweets, I scrolled down to find that section and was drawn to the Chocolate Brownie Biscotti, yum! Then I saw Chocolate Banana Bread and thought about that. But having just made Banana Bread a few days before we were Banana-Breaded-Out.

Then I looked through the Meat sections. Uh, yes, although you may not get this looking through my blog, we DO eat more than desserts! I actually make full meals every night… Mr. Swan wouldn’t have it any other way! That’s when I noticed Mom’s Pot Roast with Beer and Onions. That would FOR sure be a hit in our house, will be making that soon.

What I finally decided on for this post was Isabell’s Overnight Potato Herb Bread (which would pair perfectly with the previously noted Pot Roast…. I’m feeling a repeat soon!).

This recipe caught my attention because unlike (most) other yeast breads, it is refrigerated overnight. I followed her recipe pretty closely. I was trying to “health” it up a bit so I only used 2 Tablespoons of oil (pretty big reduction) and I increased water to 3/4 cup. My “tablespoon of dried herbs” consisted of 1 teaspoon of rosemary, 1 teaspoon of thyme, 1/2 teaspoon marjoram, and 1/2 teaspoon garlic powder.

 

This bread is amazingly delicious – we demolished the entire loaf embarrassingly fast!

Overnight Potato Herb Bread – adapted slightly from Crumb (originally from Bread on Bread)

  • 1 pkg Active Dry Yeast
  • 1 tablespoon Sugar
  • 3/4 cup Warm Water
  • 1 cup Warm Milk
  • 2 tablespoons Oil
  • 1/4 cup Sugar
  • 3 teaspoons Salt
  • 1 tablespoon dried herbs (rosemary, thyme, marjoram, garlic, etc)
  • 2 Eggs
  • 1 cup Mashed Potatoes
  • 6-7 cups Flour

In a measuring bowl, dissolve yeast and tablespoon of sugar in warm water. Let stand 5 minutes to proof.

Once yeast mixture is foamy, stir in warm milk, oil, remaining sugar, salt, eggs, herbs, and potatoes. Stir until mixture is blended and smooth.

Add flour, 1 cup at a time, until a soft dough forms. Mix well between each addition.

Turn dough out onto a floured surface and knead. Add flour as needed to keep dough from sticking. Knead for 10-12 minutes, or until the dough feels soft and elastic.

Lightly coat the inside of a large mixing bowl with oil and place dough in the bowl, turning to grease top. Cover tightly with plastic warp and place in the refrigerator overnight or until needed (up to 18 hours, if necessary).

Remove dough from refrigerator and punch down. Let stand for 5 minutes, and then knead vigorously for 4-5 minutes. Shape into a ball and place in a lightly-oiled pie tin (or loaf pan if regular loaf is desired; I used a 8″ round stoneware pan). Cover with a damp cloth and set aside to rise until doubled, or around 3 hours (the second rise takes longer than usual because the dough is still cold from its stay in the fridge, which slows down the growth of the yeast).

Preheat oven to 375 (F) degrees and bake the loaf for 40-45 minutes or until the bread is crusted and sounds hollow when tapped on the bottom. Remove from pan and return to oven for 5-10 minutes to crisp up the crust.

 

Click below to find links to all of the SCR posts from today’s reveal:

Comments
11 Responses to “Overnight Potato Herb Bread – Secret Recipe Club”
  1. teaandscones says:

    Love making bread and this one looks great. And with herbs!! Fantastic!!

  2. Kim Bee says:

    Geez I think I drooled all over the keyboard. Yummy bread.

  3. kirstin says:

    YUM!!! This sounds sooo good!. Did you use homemade mashed potatoes? And if so, did you add milk, etc..to them, or just “mash” the potatoes and put them in ‘as is”

    • meettheswans says:

      I did use homemade mashed potatoes, they were left-over from a meal the night before. I added milk to make them creamy and a little seasoning, but no butter… that’s what I always do when I make mashed potatoes for just the two of us!

  4. Mmmm I love herbs in bread and this sounds amazing! A great use for leftover mashed potatoes (as if I ever have leftover mashed potatoes…)

  5. Veronica says:

    I die! This sounds and looks so incredible! Saved!

  6. This looks absolutely wonderful!

  7. Great pick. This is one of my favourite bread recipes! I’m ever so glad you enjoyed it… must try your “healthy” version sometime, especially since the loaf still comes out so pretty and white and fluffy.
    (And yes, it’s wonderful with my mom’s pot roast… it’s perfect for mopping up the gravy and wiping the plate clean) 🙂

  8. I made potato bread once, and really loved it. It also kept fresh for much longer. Now looking at your post I’m wondering why I have not been making it more often. Your bread looks just amazing! Great pick for SRC!

  9. I once tried a potato bread recipe and it so didn’t work for me. Your recipe looks like it would be a lot better. I’m gonna pin this.

  10. Lisa~~ says:

    As I’m not a bread baker I’m always impressed by those who bake such gorgeous loaves.

    If you haven’t already, I’d love for you to check out my SRC entry: Crunchy Fudgy Heart Bites

    Lisa~~
    Cook Lisa Cook

Leave a Reply

