Cheesy Veggie Beer Bread

The time for the monthly Secret Recipe Club post is here again. For the last few months this is what has been motivating me to keep the blog going! I’ve been busy with several other projects and blogging has taken the back-burner. I’ve really appreciated being a member of this group to serve as great motivation to keep it up!

As a reminder, the Secret Recipe Club is a group I’ve been a member of since it was started last year in April. Amanda of Amanda’s Cookin‘ had the great idea for the club, which grew from a small group of bloggers to hundreds of bloggers in no time at all! The club even has a website now! If you’re interested in participating you can find everything you need to know there and you can check back there everyday to see featured recipes from past “SRC” reveals.

Ironically, two of my last three SRC posts have been on breads… and this time around I chose bread again!

My assigned blog is Sweet Beginnings written by Jaida. I must admit I had not previously heard of her blog (which by the way is one of the group things about this club) and I was secretly happy to see the title was “sweet beginnings” – before visiting I wondered if that meant Jaida would have mostly sweets on her blog, much like mine.

Although she does have an entirely separate index just for “Sweet Treats”, she also has a much larger selection of “non-sweet” recipes including many meat and main dish recipes. Because I still have not mastered taking a good photo of a main dish I usually avoid those for blog posts. Although I definitely scoped out the sweets section, I finally decided on the Green Onion, Cheddar, and Asiago Beer Batter Bread.

I love homemade breads and I love how quick and easy beer bread can be when I’m in a crunch and don’t have time for a yeast bread. I decided to sub Parmesan for the Asiago Cheese because we always have it on hand, and I reduced the amount. I also decided to add fresh chopped spinach to the bread. I didn’t both cooking the onion or spinach ahead of time, I have a yeast bread recipe I make that uses green onions and fresh spinach – because I don’t cook before adding to that bread I thought I would see if I could skip that step here as well. Seemed to work fine!

I didn’t want the name to get too lengthy so I decided on “Cheesy Veggie Beer Bread”.

Cheesy Veggie Beer Bread

Modified slightly from Sweet Beginnings, from Recipe Girl

  • 3 cups Flour
  • 3 tablespoons Sugar
  • 2 teaspoons Baking Powder
  • 1 teaspoon Salt
  • 1 cup Shredded Cheddar Cheese
  • 1/4 cup Shredded Parmesan Cheese
  • 1 cup chopped Green Onions
  • 1 cup chopped Fresh Spinach
  • 1 (12 oz) can or bottle Beer (I used Coor’s Light)

Combine flour, sugar, baking powder, and salt in a large bowl. Add cheese, onion, spinach and beer. Stir until dry ingredients are just moistened. Spoon batter into a prepared 9″x5″ loaf pan (I used the Pampered Chef Stoneware Loaf Pan so I did not grease my pan, if you are using metal coat with cooking spray). Bake in preheated 375°F oven for about 45-50 minutes. Cool 5 minutes in pan before removing from pan to cool completely. Enjoy!



Comments
5 Responses to “Cheesy Veggie Beer Bread”
  1. Lisa~~ says:

    Sounds like a wonderful bread.

    If you haven’t already, I’d love for you to check out my SRC entry: Broiled Sushi.

    Lisa~~
    Cook Lisa Cook

  2. Okay, I make beer bread all the time, but I never thought to put veggies in it. Um.. yum! Thanks for the inspiration. Wonderful choice for SRC.

  3. That looks like one tasty way to eat your veggies.

  4. Jaida says:

    Glad you enjoyed it…would love to see a picture of the final product!

    • meettheswans says:

      I’m sorry I left the picture off before!!!! My camera battery was dead when I made this so I just snapped a picture on my phone. I wrote the post earlier and completely forgot I never put a photo up! Hadn’t had a chance to look at the post until now due to work. Loved the bread! I’m making lasagna for a group later this week and I’m planning to make another loaf of this bread to serve with it!

Leave a Reply

